Lin Seed Oil

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WoodLM

Has anyone ever used Lin Seed Oil on lighter colored woods under a CA finish? it was an idea i had as i was falling asleep last night. i am new to turning, so im not sure if it is even possible to Lay CA over an oil like that. thanks in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
There are many threads on using BLO with CA both applied on the wood and then on the applicator with the CA? Most of them use the BLO abbreviation instead of boiled Linseed Oil

jeff

Administrator
Staff member
Here's a good opportunity to mention the fire hazard of boiled linseed oil.

The oil soaked rags (or for us, usually paper towels) are subject to spontaneous combustion. Tremendous heat is generated as the oil dries, and they can ignite.

Read and follow the safe handling instructions on the can!

GaryMGg

Following up on what Jeff stated, the fire hazards related to spontaneous combustion WRT Boiled Linseed Oil (BLO) are well documented.
I've personally witnessed a balled up BLO soaked paper towel begin to smoke within several hours after use.
This URL to a woodworking site is illustrative of the dangers:
WoodNet Forums: WOW...read the spontaneous combustion thread and

Used carefully, there's no danger and BLO does a nice job of popping the grain on many woods.
Used carelessly, it's a recipe for disaster.

brownsfn2

I have used BLO of a lot of my wood pens. I apply it and then let it dry for some time before CA application. I think it makes the grain show more.

When I am finished with the paper towel I spread it out and lay it on the cement floor in my basement away from everything else. Once dry (At least 24 hrs) I can dispose of it in the trash outside safely.

ALexG