Lacquer finish for shaving brushes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

wildcatstrat

Greetings! Long time lurker, first time poster. I've been turning shaving brushes and pens (primarily) for about 2 years now, and recently began using Masters Magic spray lacquer as a finishing technique for my wooden shaving brushes. I'm never in a huge hurry to finish my projects, so I don't mind having to wait however long it takes for the lacquer to fully dry before I can buff with automotive compound and polish, and I LOVE the look and feel of a lacquer finish compared to my prior go-to method of CA glue. At any rate, I'm curious if my finishing method would benefit from adding Dr. Kirk's Microcrystalline Wax after my final polishing. I've been very pleased with how my projects have been turning out, but I wanted to inquire on here if I could enhance it further with this additional step. Sorry if this question has been answered somewhere already (I'm sure it has,) but I hadn't seen it phrased in a way that gave me enough confidence to try it. Thanks in advance for any insight.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Welcome Dan. Adding wax to any finish is not going to protect the project much for what we do. We make projects that are handled a lot and in some harsh conditions. Will it enhance the appearance, it can not hurt it is the best way to put it. My thoughts though go back to your use of lacquer on a project that is subject to water. Water and lacquer do not play well with each other. Not sure what type of lacquer you are using but most people use nitrocellulose lacquer because of it ease of use and readily available. Now if you want to step up to the next best lacquer it would be a pre-catalyzed lacquer. But you need to seal it usually with a vinyl sealer. But it has a shelf life. The best type lacquer is the
catalyzed lacquer but it is mixed with a sealer (vinyl) But the drawback on this is use and throw away unused portions.