How to stop color bleed on segmented bowl?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stuckinohio

Hello,

I am planning on doing a segmented bowl with maple and purple heart. I know I will experience color bleed if I sand. Normally I would use CA glue on a pen before sanding to stop the bleed, but it doesn't seem like I want to CA a large bowl.

I assume sanding sealer would work. I see that suggested often after searching, but are there other techniques or products that may work better?

Thanks in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stuckinohio

I've read that too. Problem is this is a bowl, which I have a hard time with anyways and I don't know how to use a skew on the inside of a bowl. I need to practice with a skew cause I'm not good with them at all!

mark james

IAP Collection, Curator
I'm no expert, but you DO NOT use a skew on the inside of a bowl. Bowl gouge, radial scraper, easy wood carbide R2, etc...

But, to your question; maybe after a first rough sanding grit use sanding sealer to assist with color bleed?

I bet other forum members will offer advise, or U-Tube.

stuckinohio

I've been watching youtube for sanding sealer videos but didn't have much luck finding ones for segmented bowls. I've never used sanding sealer, but most of those videos show the sealer to use sorta as a prep for the top coat, but I figure that's what I should try.

jttheclockman

Hello,

I am planning on doing a segmented bowl with maple and purple heart. I know I will experience color bleed if I sand. Normally I would use CA glue on a pen before sanding to stop the bleed, but it doesn't seem like I want to CA a large bowl.

I assume sanding sealer would work. I see that suggested often after searching, but are there other techniques or products that may work better?

Thanks in advance!