Help! First Acrylic Acetate Pen Blank

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

64Stang

I am new to turning and this is my first Acrylic Acetate Pen blank. I have sanded through all the grits to 600 (dry) and then mirco meshed to 12000 (wet). I wiped the blank down between grits and this was my result after using Novus 2 polish. I am wondering where I went wrong. Be kind, I am new to Acrylic. :)

Maybe lathe speed?

See attached photo.

Thank you in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_4219.jpg
    IMG_4219.jpg
    36.9 KB · Views: 1,046
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
That does not look like acrylic acetate.

It looks more like acrylester or another resin mix.

That makes a difference as to what contributed to the problems you are showing.

IF my vision is correct you have scratching and small white spots?? Is there also a "pit" on the left?

Was the material coming off in "ribbons" or was it more like pebbles of salt hitting you?

Carl Fisher

Just a suggestion, ease up on the pressure especially with the lower grits. Also be sure you have your lathe turned down relatively slow so it doesn't build up heat. If your turning is relatively smooth, start with 400 and gently get it to the point where after you wipe it off it leaves a dull blank with no obvious deep scratches. THEN move to 600 and repeat.

If you see any deep scratches, you've either used too much pressure, let the blank get too hot or had something clog up the paper. These are the typical problems I've seen. Don't move to the next grit until you are sure you have a surface that is ready for it.

64Stang

Thanks for the suggestions. I thought it would be easier then a CA finish on wood....I have had good results so far doing that. :)

Carl Fisher

It typically is easier than a CA finish, but some resins are much softer than others. The softer the material, the less pressure you can use.

64Stang