Help with CA Finish on Cocobolo

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

K-9 Man

Hello,

I was hoping someone could tell me why the CA finish on the attached blank turned out the way it did. Some of it looks really nice and clear/dark other spots look milky/cloudy. I am new at the CA finish and until now have had good luck. I say luck because I am not sure exactly what I am doing applying CA as a finish.

The cloudy spot don't show up until I am using the mirco mesh to sand. I also noticed it when I applied the "one step platic polish" to the CA finish, which I had done before.

Thanks for any tips/help. By the way the wood used here is Cocobolo.

Ernie

Attachments

• DSCN8158.jpg
    DSCN8158.jpg
    83.6 KB · Views: 551
  • DSCN8161.jpg
    DSCN8161.jpg
    72.5 KB · Views: 386
  • DSCN8162.jpg
    DSCN8162.jpg
    66.6 KB · Views: 347
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JohnU

Others will probably have better answers for you but the way I see it, blame the wood. Cocobolo has oils in the wood that interfere with a good CA finish. Been there, done that. Try wiping the wood down real good with Denatured Alcohol or acetone before the CA. Just make sure you give it plenty of time to dry before the CA. Bocote and zircote along with others will give you the same problems. Good luck.

There are several things that might be happening.

It looks to me as you are not applying enough ca and so it is all getting sanded off as you go through the mm.

If its not that then it might be because cocobolo is a very oily wood and so the clouds would be moisture from the oil or from other water that has built up under the ca.

Hope the info helps. I often had trouble with the first issue.

Michael

micharms

I would suggest that it is a problem because of the oils in the cocobolo. Did you wipe the blank with mineral spirits or something similar before applying the CA? I'm no expert on this so it is just a suggestion.

Michael

anectine