Help with CA finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RMayoIII

OK so I'm pretty new at this pen turning bit but I've been reading quite a bit of info here. I tried my first CA finish the other day on a zebrawood blank and it came out very nice. About 10 coats of medium (thats all I have) and then used the abralon pads up to 4000 grit. Then I polished it with some Meguiars Mirror Glaze I had in the garage. The finish was very impressive to me so I decided to try again on a piece of cocobolo and I'm not sure what happened.... After 5-6 coats of CA I had to leave the shop for a quick relief break. When I came back the CA had turned very dull and blotchy. I tried to polish it to see if it would go away but it got worse! What is going on here???

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

butchf18a

Ruby's successes not withstanding, Cocobolo is very oily. This oil is most likely the source of your problem. The fix for now is to sand off the existing CA finish down to bare wood, clean the blank thoroughly with denatured alcohol or acetone, then re-apply the CA. I'm no chemist, and there may well be better options for cleaning the blank, however I've had success with DA and Acetone.

jmoicbw-bidi

reiddog1

I've never had trouble with cocobolo. Maybe its as simple as cleaning your blank with a little bit of CA activator or DA and I never touch the blank with my hands after cleaning. Just be careful of oily wood like padauk, cause the activator will make the color run. DAMHIKT!! With those type woods, I just clean them with a dry paper towl while they spin. Hope this helps.

Dave

RMayoIII

I skipped the cleaning step :rolleyes: and I was very "hands on" after the sanding. I'll try re-sanding and cleaning with some acetone and see what happens. Thanks for the advice. If it works out I'll try to post a pic in the "show off your pens" thread.

its_virgil