Ghosting Cure

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kooster

I'm new to IAP & turning and would like to know if there is any possible "exterior" fix for ghosting or any application that can be used on the exterior of a blank prior to finishing and/or sanding?
I'm aware of coloring tubes/blanks but occasionally I've turned acrylics that I thought would not be victimized by ghosting only to find out differently after most of the work was done. Thanks for any advice or suggestions.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kooster

Yes, "ghosting" is a term used to refer to the brass tube showing through some acrylic blanks during final steps of sanding. Hench, the need for painting/coloring tubes and/or blanks or purchasing colored tubes prior to gluing.

kooster

Thanks again guys. I know about painting the tubes and/or the blanks prior to any gluing but occasionally, even though I know better, the ol' memory just doesn't kick in when it should. Also, I honestly didn't think the dark blue would present any ghosting problem but . . .
I just thought, in the wide world of pen turning, someone might have thought of a way to fix such a problem from the exterior and after the fact. Maybe like applying a few layers of colored CA or applying some sort of liquid acrylic or the like. Just something to ponder while I wait for my replacement blanks to arrive !!!!
Thanks again guys.

Ed McDonnell

Anything you put on the exterior of the blank to obscure the brass will also obscure your blank. Sounds like you are going to throw away the current blanks. If you really really really really want to try to save them then you have to work on the problem from the interior.

If you have the blanks turned to a straight sided cylinder that you can mount in your lathe for drilling you are ready for the next step. If you don't, turn them to straight sided cylinders.

Mount them in the lathe for drilling and drill out the brass.

Sand the drill hole and paint it.