Friction Polish / CA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bwg

I need some help about finishing techniques. I am relatively new to pen turning so I come here for experienced opinion.
I think that pens are finished using friction polish both look and feel much nicer than those done with CA. I do realize that CA will last much much longer than wax and polish. But here is my question: just what does a friction polished pen look like after the finish has worn off? I think back to when I was a smoker and though my favorited poison was cigarettes, I was sometimes tempted to try smoking a pipe (not for long though). Pipes always looked so cool (not good nicotine delivery systems though). They were most always burl wood and the older ones usually had a patina that was very personal to owner. In other words they looked better for not looking brand new. Can pens be like that? I don't know...I'm just asking.

Does anyone have a picture of a pen that is not finished with CA but has been well used?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

Eventually they will have a patina. It is really a matter of personal taste if you like that look or not. Some of my early pens were friction polish. Personally I didn't like the look of the patina so I moved on to other finishes. I do not have a pen to post a pic of.

mrgator

This is my daily use pen I made 4 or 5 months ago. Used Doctor's Woodshop & Pens Plus. I too like the feel of it.

Erik

Attachments

• beb.jpg
    beb.jpg
    107 KB · Views: 362

StumpyThumb

This is my daily use pen I made 4 or 5 months ago. Used Doctor's Woodshop & Pens Plus. I too like the feel of it.

Erik
So far i really like the Doctors stuff. Plus I don't have to worry about gluing myself to myself while using it.

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk

BKelley