Finishing with a darker and lighter wood

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

eppen

Hi there I recently made a pen with a dark wood as the main body and a lighter wood as the band. It appears that after sanding and finishing, the lighter wood has gone darker because of the darker wood contaminating it.
What is the best way to prevent this.

Sent from my iPhone using Penturners.org mobile app

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

no sanding, use only the skew for finishing the surface. It requires more skill than using sandpaper, but you can achieve a better surface with the skew than with sandpaper (check out some skew youtube videos). I am by no means a skew expert, really just a beginner turner -- I made two identical segmented pens and on one I used sandpaper and the other I stopped with the skew. The skew-only pen was by far the better pen with essentially no contamination.

eppen

no sanding, use only the skew for finishing the surface. It requires more skill than using sandpaper, but you can achieve a better surface with the skew than with sandpaper (check out some skew youtube videos). I am by no means a skew expert, really just a beginner turner -- I made two identical segmented pens and on one I used sandpaper and the other I stopped with the skew. The skew-only pen was by far the better pen with essentially no contamination.

I guess I will have to brush up my skew skills

leehljp

Member Liaison

I think a carbide scraper might do well too, under some circumstances. I primarily use scrapers but mine are self sharpened HSS scrapers. I do fill that my sharpened scrapers are sharper than carbide scrapers.