Finishing Casein to a Fairly High Gloss ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

magpens

I would like to make a two-barrel pen using Casein, and I would like to polish to a high gloss if this is possible.

My internet research suggests that this should be possible.

Just wondering if anyone has done this and can suggest a method.

My usual approach for acrylics is to sand/micromesh to the highest grit, and then polish in 4 steps using: (1) Mequiar's automobile fine scratch remover, (2) Novus 3 acrylic polish, (3) Novus 2 acrylic polish, and, finally (4) Meguiar's Plastix.

I sometimes leave out step (1), depending on the surface quality after the sand/micromesh stage.

Any suggestions, including a totally different approach that works, would be greatly appreciated.

Also, can a more glossy finish result if I use several layers of CA after the lathe-work.

I have never used Casein before. Thanks.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

cjester

I've managed to finish one, and had no trouble getting it to a nice gloss just with micromesh. It looked great for a week, then it cracked.

The others I've tried blew up on the lathe. I've got another blank or two, but it will be a while before I feel like trying them again.

duncsuss

I just finished a fountain pen (kitless) with a casein barrel and got it to a respectable gloss like this:

* sandpaper -- 320 grit (against a hard backing, to flatten out any ridges) and 400 grit

* micromesh -- brown through gray, wet sanding and rinsing/wiping off between grits

* buff in both directions with tripoli, white diamond, blue compound, Plas-Glo P-22 compoung and finally P-112 compound (the last 3 purchased from Caswell Plating).

magpens

Thank you Carl and Duncan for your replies.

Duncan, when you say "buff in both directions" do you mean both lengthwise and circumferentially ?

duncsuss

Thank you Carl and Duncan for your replies.