Finish advice please

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Clintg

Today is Christmas, i got my first lathe today, although i have been making pens in my High school woodshop for about 2 months now. I originally had ordered myland high fric. polish. After reading reviews about CA on here about 5 hours after ordering, i decided not to use it on my pens. So as I have been making pens nearly all day, i realized i had no finish. I grabbed some Shelac finish my father had and applied that with a fine tip brush, after 2 hours drying in a dry, warm enviroment, the pens are tacky, glossy, beautiful, but tacky. Any advice?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

chriselle

If you don't want to use CA then you must be diciplined enough to resist touching your pens for much longer than 2 hours. The fact that you realized the finish is tacky means the finish is ruined. CA is your friend my friend.

its_virgil

Mylands and other friction polishes are shellac based. So, you chose to use what you had just chosed not to use. :) Even if you use the mylands, the finished blanks need to dry over night or even longer before assembly.
Do a good turn daily!
Don

Today is Christmas, i got my first lathe today, although i have been making pens in my High school woodshop for about 2 months now. I originally had ordered myland high fric. polish. After reading reviews about CA on here about 5 hours after ordering, i decided not to use it on my pens. So as I have been making pens nearly all day, i realized i had no finish. I grabbed some Shelac finish my father had and applied that with a fine tip brush, after 2 hours drying in a dry, warm enviroment, the pens are tacky, glossy, beautiful, but tacky. Any advice?

Clintg

I have been reading about how do to CA, but we literally had no superglue! I just knew shellac was a finish used on pens. I sanded one down and started over, guess ill get my hands on superglue. Any type preferable?

chriselle