Finally Getting a CA Tech. (Long)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Tn-Steve

Hey Gang,

I apologize in advance for this post being so long and detailed, but I'm a Tech Trainer by profession, and for me, this is being brief :))

I'm new at this, (maybe 6 pens under my belt), but have been working on getting that CA finish down. I started with Russ Fairfields BLO technique, was smooth, but not what I wanted, experimented around with a few others, and think I have one that works for me. That means that I'm starting to "Catch Lights", that the light reflected in the finish comes back as a sharp single point, not just a spread-out glow.

I did a Paduk pen, skew left it pretty smooth, hit it with some BLO and burnished it in, to fill the pores and pop up the grain. Then I sanded it 320-MM12000, using a light touch and finishing each grit with the lathe off, sanding lengthwise, and wiping off all the dust. At the end of this the wood was glowing, as it always does for me at this point, waiting for me to screw it up. I had a plan this time, I was going to make that finish work this time.

I did 3 coats thin CA, using the "CA-The New Way" technique. Used a VERY light touch with the accelerator, maybe a 1/2 second spritz aimed about 6 - 8 inches above the pen. let just a breath of it drift down, let it spin for about 30 seconds, then apply the next one. Finally I MM (wet) just the last 5 grades very lightly)