A few newb questions about finishing (CA/BLO and MM)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Wolfeman46

I've had a lot of luck with the CA/BLO finish, but I may start looking into different things to just try different methods since I'm new to all this.

My first question deals with something that looks like 0000000000s down the pen after finishing. It doesn't do it on every pen, but it's been quite a few. Am I doing something wrong?

Next question is... I sometimes have something when sanding that looks like metal from the bushings on the ends of the tubes. Is there something I can put on the bushings to stop that?

And last question...what can I do for the ENDS of the pens after I finish them? I keep reading about putting CA on them. How would I do that?

Thanks for any help!

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bloodhound

well im not anywhere need the expert you will get on here. but here is my noob advice.

im not sure i understand the first question involving the "00000000s" Do you mean swirls in the finish? If so. keep sanding or buffing they should go away.

The metal from the bushings. There are several ways to get away from that. If you are going to use bushings while sanding, I you should sand from the center out to the ends. So as to not drag the metal into the blank. A lot of people will turn a tad undersized to make room for the CA build up. So you can use the nylon/dirlon bushings for final sanding. Just dont get too carried away.

And the CA on the ends. If you read the post above yours they get into that.

Anyway. I am sure someone with more knowledge will pipe in here.

magpens

My approach to your last question would be ....