Engraving

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

coach

I am new to this hobby/ mini business. Some of my recent customers have asked if I could get names etc... put on pens. What are my options? costs? places to do it? I know the laser machine is like $10,000. Surley there is somewhere that will do it for you for a couple of bucks.

Also, anyone try that transfer tool in the PSI catalog? Thanks in advance for the advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

C. Scott

Coach,

I'm going to make a shameless plug for Ken Nelson at Kallenshaan Woods. Ken recently did some engraving on two cigar pens for me. He did a great job! He charges $5.00/pen for one line of text. He can do logos too. That includes return shipping. You pay to ship TO Ken. I shipped out two pens on a Monday from Houston to Las Vegas and I got the pens back Saturday.

Check the links on this website. That's how I found him.

Haven't tried the transfer tool, but it looks interesting.

coach

Do any of you offer this with your pens? If so, how much markup do you add to the price? Take Kallenshaan woods for example. If it costs $5.00 to engrave, do you add $10.00 to the price?

J. Fred Muggs

Coach:
What I've done mostly is to tell the customer of the local tro[phy shops that have laser engraving capability and let them take it to the shop, pick out the font themselves, etc. That way I don't have to fool with with it. To me, if I don't have the equipment to do it myself it's just a pain, and not worth even $10 or $15 for the hassle.

btboone

The fonts can be anything from a CAD package or drawing package. Essentially anything that can be printed, so the options are huge. My CAD package offers something like 150 fonts, all of which can be scaled or made italic or bold, so just explaining the options takes time. Invariably, a customer will want to see all the choices.

woodpens