Enduro WB Poly Report from Oak Ridge

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am new to this pen making. I, so far have made about 50 pens. I have sold a half dozen and given away another dozen.

The finish on my pens has been a great interest to me and I have explored a few different options. I first tried a Milans product recommended by a guy at the local Woodcraft store. I took a pen with that finish on it to a processing plant and wet hands soon had the finish off of the end where I held the pen. That was not satisfactory to me for a pen that I wanted to sell.

I read a post on our web site about lacquer. I bought a can of Deft brushing lacquer, thinned it 50% with thinner. Put it in a wide mouth bottle. One of the members here posted his method of application that involved putting each pen half on a wire, dipping in the lacquer and spinning it around like an airplane propeller to sling the excess finish off. Two dips about 15 min. apart works well and gives a nice finish without a lot of fussing around. You can get the pen halves off your arbor and get on with the next pen. You don't tie up the arbor or your time waiting for the finish to dry. I tried it and it works well for me.

Then I started reading about the Enduro Water Base Poly. I bought a sample kit of a quart of high gloss poly and a quart of their sanding sealer to match. Attached to this you see the result, the first four pens I finished with that product.

Here is my method and it still needs a little more refinement on my behalf but it works and gives an outstanding finish.