Ebony and CA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

CREID

I just drilled and glued an Ebony blank. While I was doing that, I thought to myself, Ebony is oily. My plan then is to after turning, wipe it down with acetone and then apply CA. I have never used Ebony before, so I am reaching out here to see if this should work. I have some shellac based finish handy, but as you know they don't hold up well under handling. In your opinion, will I have problems down the road with oil migrating to the surface and lifting the CA?
Thanx
Curt

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

KenV

Have seen no oil problems with the ebony use here. It is all very well seasoned and dry.

It turns with fine detail and needs sharp tooling. Avoid heating it during sanding and work through the grits carefully.

CA or pens plus finishes work well.

Skie_M

I haven't had any issues with ebony and CA either, but my usual method with wood is to wipe it clean with rubbing alcohol, as it evaporates quickly and helps dry the surface of the wood right before I add my Minwax Stain and Seal (natural color).... the CA is applied while the Minwax is still wet.

keithbyrd

No problems here with ebony either. As others have said I wipe it down with alcohol blow dry with air compressor while spinning, let set for 15 minutes (don't know why just seemed like that made sense!) and then finish with CA

jsolie

The only problems I've had with ebony were using some that wasn't fully dried yet. It cracked right down to the tube. :frown:

But when I'm using some that's been properly dried, I'll wipe it down with denatured alcohol before starting on a normal CA regimen. Agree with the sharp tools and go easy with the sanding. Heat is especially your enemy with ebony.

CREID