Difficulty getting "smooth" with skew?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RegisG

Of course I'm new with question like this but working on it...
I see video's with turners going from skew directly to 320 or 500 grit sand paper. I can't get close to that and have tried 1500 to over 3000 rpm on pen blank. I've tried slowing horizontal movement and taking "lighter " cuts. That helped and I don't get the little chunks coming out. But, I still have to start with 80 grit and work my way up.
Would appreciate any tips for me to practice. Or, what are common mistakes that I'm likely making?

Thanks,
Regis

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
For some reason, I don't think the following is the complete solution to your problem but it could be a part of the problem:

"What is always left out of any comparison of tool finishes is the wood. All things being equal, shear scraping can leave a better surface finish than a skew chisel on the very hard dense and close grained species, but it can't come anywhere close on everything else.

If you really want to see the extreme differences, try using a both scraper and skew on Cocobolo, Blackwood, or Desert Ironwood. You will find that the scraper might be the better tool for these very hard species. At the opposite extreme, the scraper will be a disaster on a soft wood like Douglas Fir or Pine, while a sharp skew can leave a smooth clean cut and polished surface that doesn't need sanding
." The late Russ Fairfield, on IAP.

Last edited:

JimB

Without seeing what you are doing I don't know if we can give advice.

One thing I will tell you is that the skew needs to be extremely well sharpened to get proper cuts. I am always honing my skews. Of all the tools the skew is the most important to get an extremely good edge on, IMO. How are you sharpening your skew?

RegisG