Care of Finished Pens

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Linster

I'm new to pen turning and have made several for Christmas gifts. I want to include with each pen some instructions on "how to care for your pen."

I've been working with both woods and acrylics. The woods I'm assuming can just be polished up using any furniture polish/wax made for wood. If I'm wrong, please correct me.

For the acrylics, I have no clue what to tell the recipients on how to care for them and keep them nice and shiny. Can anyone help me out with this?

Thank you in advance for your time and expertise!
Linster [:I]

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

woodwish

Can't help with the acrylics, never used the stuff. For wood I always suggest paste wax by Johnson's or Minwax (just because it so available). Someone on this forum earlier suggested carnuba car wax beacuse it is tougher, but I had really bad luck with it. I never could get it to shine very evenly and it appears to actually take the 24k finish off of some cheap kits I had. Paste wax for wood is much better in my opinion. I actually use it on my personal pen that I use all day about once per month, but probably should use it more often for daily use items.

Linster

Car Wax SHOULD NOT be used on anything wood.[:0] I learned this from other woodworking endevours. Car waxes have a fine grit in them that's good for metal polishing but not for wood. Probably why you couldn't get a shine. You were actually scratching the surface.[:(]

Thanks for the paste wax confirmation. I use it myself on wood projects.

Anyone have suggestions for acrylics? Can wood waxes be used as well?

Linster

Fred in NC

Linster, for acrylics a soft damp cloth works wonders. Paste wax works well on acrylics too.

I recently started using TSW
http://www.heritagepens.com/services.html
I used it on the pen I carry all the time, over a year old, and it looks like new. Other members of this forum like it too.

DCBluesman