CA finish vs Friction polish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JRK

I was wondering which finish is better. CA or Friction Polish?

I am very new to this and I've been following a finishing technique that I saw on you tube.

150, 240, 320, 400, 600 sandpaper. EEE Ultra shine. Micro Mesh from 1500 to 12000. Sanding sealer, two coats of friction polish, and carnuba wax.

I am not a fan of CA. I used it in model airplane construction. Using CA has caused a burning sensation in my nose and eyes.

I have a lot of scrap maple that I have been using to make blanks. I was wondering if there is way to make it darker on the lathe before applying the finish.

Thanks

Jerry

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimB

That depends on what you mean by 'better'. In general terms, many Friction Polishes don't hold up very well to the constant handling of the pen. A CA finish will last many many years. On the other hand many people feel a friction polish leaves a more natural feel and a CA finish feels like plastic. There are also other choices for finishes.

When using CA you should either use a dust collector to pull the fumes away or have a fan to blow them away. You should not be breathing the CA fumes. Most people have the same issue you describe. There are also odorless brands of CA that help reduce these issue.

Lenny

There are CA glues available with low odor, such as BSI. I did a few pens with a friction polish. Potential customers would pick them up and ask why they looked dull compared to the other ones.
Have you had any issues using EEE (Tripoli) under a sanding sealer?
Another method you could try is Les Elm's dipping method.

monophoto

"Better" is a subjective term. Everyone has a different idea of what is better.

I don't especially like the usual high gloss appearance and plasticy feel associated with CA. Instead, I prefer a softer gloss and the tactile feel of wood - which I get with a friction polish.