CA finish over dried BLO or Tung Oil?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Verseven

I am pretty new to pen turning. I have been experimenting with some different finishing technique using BLO and CA finish. I have been wanting to move away from it because I am having trouble getting a consistent finish and occasional cloudiness. However I really like the way the oil makes the grain pop. Does anyone have any experience or advice on possible pitfall, for the following technique. Put on a few coats of tung oil (let them dry for a day or two between coats) then after drying do a traditional CA finish using layers of thin CA then sanding down to 12000 micro mesh.

Really just looking for a durable finish the keeps the looks (but necessarily the feel) of an oil finish.

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Skie_M

I use Minwax brand "Stain'n'Seal" with the "Natural" look for my base finish, and I apply CA immediately after application, generally using the SAME applicator.

I believe that the Minwax contains boiled linseed oil as one of it's ingredients, which reacts a bit with my CA, giving a nice smooth application and curing the CA very quickly.

I apply the second coat of CA immediately after as well, with a fresh clean applicator. I give my CA coats after the first one at least 20 - 30 seconds to set before I apply another coat.

When I have achieved the number of coats of CA that I desire, I then sand back the last few coats using 1000 grit paper (wet) and proceed to micromesh. The 1000 grit is great for knocking off only a few layers while giving me a very level surface to work with. After the 12,000 grit micromesh, I then apply Plast-X and then Turtle Wax Hard Surface for protection and a beautiful shine ...

If there are any lines or scratches left over that I can see on close examination, I take it to my buffing wheels and quickly work them out.

Verseven