ca accelerator

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SCjim

Can I use any brand of ca accelerator, or do I have to match the same brand of accelerator with the CA that I am using?

Also, what brand CA and/or accelerator is recommended?

I am new at pen making and am getting ready to do my first CA finish. I purchased a CA finish from Penn State but didn't order the accelerator. I can pick up some accelerator at my local Woodcraft but I want to make sure it is compatible.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

thawkins87

I think you can use any brand but I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong. I've used both StickFast and another brand that I can't remember the name of that both seemed to work equally on the same CA glue.

JimB

There will be folks who have a personal preference for CA and accelerator and even some who can give a very detailed explanation as to 'Why'. I have used a few different brands and really don't see the difference. I'm currently using EZ Bond CA that I think I bought from a member and Stickfast accelerator purchased from Woodcraft. I should point out i don't use the accelerator when doing a CA finish on pens.

monophoto

I'm not a big fan of CA finish on pens (or anything else), so my answer might be biased.

My understanding is that any accelerator can be used with any CA.

However, I recall hearing from various 'experts' that while accelerator is fine if you are using CA for its original purpose (ie, as an adhesive), it's not always wise to use it if you are attempting to do a CA finish. The problem is that accelerator causes the CA to cure instantly at its surface, but it doesn't always cure all the way through. As a result, it can cause the finish to become splotchy. Instead, the 'experts' that I have heard have always recommended allowing a CA finish to cure naturally, even if that does mean waiting.