BLO vs Mineral Oil ?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rsulli16

can i use mineral oil just as i use blo? i wet sand with it, and i put some on a pad and the CA on top of it when i apply the CA.

will it cause problems under the CA?
Thanx
Sulli

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

StephenM

I don't know for sure, but I would think that it would cause problems as it never really "cures". BLO can build and be used as a finish by itself while mineral oil never really gets hard.

Rchan63

BOL is a drying oil or polymerized into a solid form. Minerial oil will not. It will never dry. So if you use minerial oil, CA will not stick to the finished blank.
I'm no expert that's just MHO. please correct me if I'm wrong.

Richard

rsulli16

darn,
and i did a fewof them too. right now the lok and feel geat. might be a problem later downw he road, huh?
Sulli

rsulli16

good to hear
i especially liked the way one of them turned out. the finish is exceptionally clear, more so than when i use the blo. but i have heard of this non drying bit bfore, but wasn't thininking of it when i reached forr the mineral oil that day. think i will go back to blo in the future to be sure.
Sulli

Texatdurango

With all due respect I can't believe I'm reading this....... applying glue to a surface coated with mineral oil or mineral oil applied in between coats of glue!

This is just my opinion but just because the word oil is used in both Boiled linseed oil and mineral oil doesn't mean they have even close to the same properties. If they did, why not just try some Penzoil 10w30? I think you are in for some big failures using mineral oil with CA, if not you, two weeks down the road in the customers hands!

SCR0LL3R

With all due respect I can't believe I'm reading this....... applying glue to a surface coated with mineral oil or mineral oil applied in between coats of glue!