Beware sensitivity to CA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi--I am new to IAP and new to turning. The first time I used a lathe was this past November. I bought a used Shopsmith E10 (1949) in December and I started turning in earnest a week and a half ago. My Shopsmith was moved (read: my husband moved my Shopsmith) down to the basement on 1/27 and I got to work right away. I made three pens and a keychain that day and was very excited and happy. It was the first time I'd used CA as a finish (thanks Woodcraft, Allentown, PA!)

Saturday night, I thought I'd come down with the worst headcold I'd ever had. I went to bed and didn't turn again until this past Saturday (2/3). Well, wouldn't you know it, by Saturday night, I was sick again--upper respiratory distress--to the point I nearly went to the ER with difficulty breathing. I've since determined that I am extremely sensitive to CA (Yes, I'm wearing a mask).

If you have this difficulty (feels like a horrible cold or flu with severe itching in your neck/throat) STOP USING THE CA! Try looking at the thread Life After CA (http://www.penturners.org/forum/f28/life-after-ca-72065/) which I am finding enormously helpful in figuring out alternatives.

Thanks in advance to all of you with so much experience and advice to share!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ctubbs