Best finishes for acrylic and PR

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Daddy1

I get a good finish now with acrylic but I have seen some are getting glass-like finishes on acrylic and PR. That is what I want! I'm new to casting so my PR finishing is a real concern. What is everyone using on the two and what is your process/method?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

TonyL

What I do is on the bottom of my signature block. I at least 10 other polishes made for penturning and plastic polishing. I just can't seem to find better than what I am doing now. In fact, I am about to cal Meguiars to ask them about their metal polish.

It is important for me to state that I have seen excellent finishes produced with the same stuff that I can't seem to get to work. So, maybe it's me.

mikedealer

I wet sand through all grits of Micromesh followed by Renaissance wax. That's it!

i do same thing, but i do use a plastic polish too, either Hut for almost everything (cause its cheap and works great), or novus 2 if there are haze marks that just arent coming out from weirder/cheaper acrylic blanks.

when using the 12,000 grit final polish, after initial polish ill use a very light touch on it in reverse too (you can flip blank if you have a lathe that doesnt have reverse).

Chasper

I think I get a glass like finish on AA and other poly resins, I don't use polish. After MicroMesh I buff with tripoli and a fine grain white compound (White Diamond will do) and then it shines, nothing more is needed. If you have to put a polish on it to make it shine, the shine will wear off when the polish wears off. If you get it shining without polish, it will continue to shine for the life of the pen.

Polyurethane is a different matter, it does not shine as well, the only way I can get a glass shine is with a polish, so I don't often use it.

Last edited:

csr67