Back Painting / Tube Painting , Opinions/Paints

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

adirondak5

Hi all , I'm fairly new to pen making & turning . Hopefully I posted in the proper forum . I am actively researching this now but thought I would also ask your opinions here . What is a good paint for back painting AA blanks and such , tubes also . Do you try to color match as close as possible , say a translucent blue with white ribbons , what colors would you back paint with ? What paints would you use ?
Thanks for looking .

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mike4066

I use inexpensive acrylic paint that you can buy at any store with a craft / paint section.

As for the color, it depends on what you want. I use a similar color as the blank, or black/white if I don't have something close. Remember that the color you use on the back painting can affect the acrylic color.

Also let the paint CURE before trying to glue up. If not the glue can smear the paint and make the tube show through once turned down, or the blank won't stick to the tube (DAMHIK). I usually let mine sit overnight before gluing the tubes.

mike4066

Here is an example of the same blank reverse painted two different colors, one is white, the other is black.

(not my pens, they were part of a demo at the MPG in Ohio this year)

Attachments

• 20160408_162141.jpg
    20160408_162141.jpg
    112.2 KB · Views: 289

randyrls

Paint the inside of the tube (not the blank) with spray paint in a rattle can. WEAR GLOVES!!!!

I paint ALL ACRYLIC blanks!!! On very transparent blanks, you can sometimes see the glue. It isn't pretty. Hold the drilled blank up to a light. If you can see light coming thru the side of the blank, paint the blank. See first line in paragraph.

White will make the colors lighter and more vibrant. Black or gray will mute the colors.
On a white blank, the blank will take up the color of the spray paint. (hint, hint).