Aluminum pen finishing?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

pendoc1

There are some great looking aluminum and titanium metal pens posted in the gallery with superb finishes on them! I recently got some aluminum and now I am thinking about turning an aluminum pen. However, I am not sure how to finish it. Any suggestions?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Bob A

I'm no expert on aluminum pens but I have turned two of them. I didn't use anything more than micro mesh. I have been carrying one of them in my cell phone case for about 10 months now and considering the abuse it has taken it still looks pretty good.

Like I said though I am not an expert with aluminum. Someone will likely come along with a better option. Then you and I can both learn something.

Tom McMillan

Hey Todd--Looks like you deserve a WELCOME to IAP!!!! I'm a novice at making metal pens---my spiral aluminum/brass pen being my first all metal pen. I'm going to resand the grooves in the spirals. I wasn't sure what to use and was told that lacquer would be a good choice, and I'm looking into that. But I think that was mostly for the brass although when I do it it will cover both---I'm not sure about aluminum. Hopefully someone with more knowledge will give more info.

btboone

Yup, a wax or lacquer will keep finger acids from eating at it. Netiher is really necessary if the pen is wiped down every once in a while.

pendoc1

Sorry for not introducing myself before submitting a question. I have been turning pens since January 2004. I have made about 50-60 pens so far. Most of them are domestic and exotic hardwoods. I have turned about 10 antler pens with good success. I am just now starting to experiment with dyes, alternative materials, inlays, etc. Thanks for all the comments about finishing so far. I will try to submit some of my work soon to the gallery.

Ryan

pendoc1 Posted - Mar 06 2005 : 01:55:41 AM