12 Attempts 1 Sucess....

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ChrisD123

Hey Guys, still have problem with ca... i get the part down to size and sand up to 400. then i apply ca with paper towel 1 layer at a time and wait about 1-2 mins between layers and do about 15-20 layers. but when i go to wet sand it gets white and to sand it off i have to use 400 grit which sands away all the finish... what am i doing wrong im using the lee vally hot stuff glue? should there be a differnt glue that works betteR??

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kinger

Im no expert yet with finishing either unless you consider gluing yourself up with it, but are you using an accelerator between coats? and how long after you finish applying the CA do you wait before starting to sand? I dont know if this is right but I like to wait 30min or longer to let the glue dry up more, it dries from the outside in so maybe you are sanding off the topcoat and underneath is not fully dried yet?

and wow just looked at that glue you using and pricy

Haynie

I don't have a lot of experience with CA but the only time it turned white on me was when I was in too much of a hurry to wet sand and I got what you describe. After some reading here it sounded like the stuff was not dry when I hit it with the water. Now I make sure it is good and dry between each coat. I use an accelerator after each coat.

Since I switched to the stick fast stuff I have had ZERO issues after following their instructions. I don't know anything about the glue you are using.

Bowl Slinger