Wifi Photo? to HDMI and your experience? - International Association of Penturners
     International Association of Penturners
Pens for Service Members
 
Support The IAP

Go Back   International Association of Penturners > Community Forums > Pen Photography
  Forgot Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Pen Photography Discuss the techniques and equipment for perfect pen pictures.


Logged on members can hide ads!

Welcome to penturners.org!

You've found the home of The International Association of Penturners. You are currently viewing our site as a guest, which gives you limited access to view discussions, photos, and library articles.

Consider joining our community today. You'll have full access to all of our content, be able to enter our contests, find local chapters near you, and post your questions and share your experience with our members all over the world.

Membership is completely free!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2018, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 71
Photos: 0

Default Wifi Photo? to HDMI and your experience?

My wife is my photographer, she is really good at what she does. but I want to change a few things to make it a little more high tech, and make it easier for her.

I have been experimenting with the idea of having a setup where by you take a picture and the the picture is displayed on the PC or a TV.

I want her to be able to see if the photo is out of focus are maybe a problem, since its eating her time.

The current Camera we have works "only OK" , its connected to my Tablet, and she takes a picture on the tablet and the photo is uploaded and displayed on the Tablet.

But the Camera is having a focusing issue, and its only 10"

Has anyone ever attempted this?


My ultimate goal would be to have the Camera, point , shoot and then display on the 32" LCD in the room. as a 1 shot process.

Right now I can have that happen, but you have to change the settings to go to media mode which is an extra step, and it gets in the way of production.

input and peoples Experiences would be greatly appreciated.
menglor is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 12-21-2018, 12:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: PA
Posts: 4
Photos: 0

Default

Hi Stephan
I can offer an opinion, I have and use Canon brand cameras. Their newest batch have wifi/App enabled options. These offer the ability to see live through the camera, control the camera's functions and take the picture from the app and then to down load the full image to the wireless device. So the Canon/Nikon/Sony et al conversation is very similar to the Ford/Chevy/Dodge I am fairly sure the other brands may offer some of the same type connections/ controls.

Wish you well on your Pen photography adventures!!
Rick
Mr_Fixdit is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 12-21-2018, 12:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
moke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 895
Photos: 0

Default

I have owned/worked at a studio for 41 years now. We try to be pro-active with software/hardware to a point. You can sink tons of cash into products that may or may not work. I did invest in a wifi card a couple years ago, that would send my images from the camera to my graphics lab. It works about only 95% of the time....it would not receive an image or two per session...invariably it would be the one we wanted. It would be on the card, which we would then download, so it proved to be somewhat futile. Our building is brick with a steel span "rafters" and the CS people blamed it on that. I have not gotten one of the latest generation wifi camera, so I can not speak to their reliability....but I have heard from another photogragher that the Nikon works well. Like Mr Fixdit I have always used Canon.

Also depending on your lens and the focal length 10" may be to close for that lens to function....if it performs reliably at further distances, that may be closer than or right on it's limits......You may try different distances and focal lengths. With zoom lenses it can be tricky to max magnification. Just experiment, you'll get it...
__________________
Mike aka: Moke

www.hallsphoto.com

Procrastinate Later
--Unknown Author

Last edited by moke; 12-21-2018 at 12:47 PM.
moke is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Advertisement
Old 12-21-2018, 12:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 71
Photos: 0

Default

Hey guys.

Since posting this question, someone pointed me to a open source piece of software that works great with my Nikon dc3000, I will dig up the name and post it later.

it really does everything I needed.
menglor is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 12-24-2018, 07:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
MDWine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Manassas Park, Virginia, USA.
Posts: 2,461
Photos: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by menglor View Post
. . . Since posting this question, someone pointed me to a open source piece of software that works great with my Nikon dc3000 . . .
I'd be interested in what you found. I'm a Nikon shooter, and the 750 has a wifi capability, but I can only fire with the phone app. I can't make focus or manual adjustments from the phone.

I haven't concentrated on it being a portrait/wedding shooter, but lately I want to do more light painting, and the remote capability would fit right in.
__________________
Michael
Manassas Park, Va.
20111
MDWine is online now   Reply With Quote Top
Old 12-24-2018, 08:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
Lathemaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA.
Posts: 289
Photos: 9

Default

I use a Canon Rebel T3i and a DSLR WiFi controller with a Android tablet

Check it out here ----> https://dslrcontroller.com/
__________________
In woodturning, perfection is attained not when there is nothing more to add,
but when there is nothing more to take away.
Website: www.thewoodartiststudio.com
Etsy Store: http://www.etsy.com/shop/woodenquill...on_id=13402644
Online Store: www.penmaker.store
Lathemaster is online now   Reply With Quote Top
Old 12-24-2018, 09:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
chartle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Pgh, PA
Posts: 1,107
Photos: 0

Default

Does it help putting the pic on the TV?

Here is my first thought on this. Whats the resolution of the TV? Is it 4K? It maybe less than the resolution of the tablet. My 3 year old Samsung S7 has a resolution of 2560x1440. My new TV is 1920x1080 because thats all it has to be.

Bigger is not always clearer. Also with a tablet you can easily zoom in with 2 fingers.

I may be totally off base but just keep this in mind.
__________________
Cliff

Last edited by chartle; 12-24-2018 at 09:24 AM.
chartle is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 12-24-2018, 09:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member Liaison
 
leehljp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Tunica, MS,
Posts: 6,355
Photos: 46

Default

Quote:
But the Camera is having a focusing issue, and its only 10"
This statement is confusing to me. Is she taking the photos with the Tablet with a tablet camera?

Better to answer - which camera model does she have?
__________________
Hank Lee

Experience is what you get when you don't get what you wanted!
leehljp is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 12-24-2018, 01:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 71
Photos: 0

Default

so the App I found was :

Easy to use, free solution for complex camera control | digiCamControl

basically, i run it on the laptop, with my TV plugged into the HDMI port and the Camera plugged into the USB port.

its been a while since I used it, but basically.

I take a picture with the camera, it bring it up on th latop and the TV so I can see photo's "real time"

I did find something that let me take pictures withe the ipad/tablet. but I struggled with it.

again its been a while since I have used it. its my wife's calling to take the photo's for me.

she delete's all photo's she doesnt like after taking them, so she isnt taking 400 pictures and only 10 are usable.

for me thats its weight in gold.


I should mention, this works on the older camera's because its the App thats downloading the photo's

I like the idea of upgrading the camera, I just couldnt defend the expense right now.

so its breathed new life into my DSLR

Last edited by menglor; 12-24-2018 at 01:26 PM.
menglor is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Related Content
Logged on members can hide ads
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

Content Copyright © 2003-2019 by Penturners.org, LLC; All Rights Reserved
Terms Of Service   Acceptable Use Policy