Taking Photos Outdoors

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I'm not a pro photographer, but need some advice. I like to take photos of my pens outdoors, usually with some type of natural background--rugged wood or animal fur. Sometimes I just use a gray cushion from the patio chair. I use either one of two point-and-shoots. A Canon PowerShot SX40 or FUJIFILM Finepix S700.

I get out of direct sunlight, so usually shoot mornings or evenings or big shaded spots during the day. I'll use a tripod, camera on auto, set to macro, and I'll snap the photo with timer setting on 10s or 2s. Take several shots, different angles, and then pick the best one.

So, I do a lot of trial & error shooting. Can you guys recommend different settings or techniques so I can make better shots--preferably outdoors? Should I take camera off auto, go to portrait or manual? If manual, what settings do you recommend?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SDB777

As long as the entire pen is in focus, the 'setting dial' doesn't really matter.

If you are in 'auto' and are getting out-of-focus imagery, then move the camera back some and let it re-focus(trial-n-error to get the distance). You can always 'crop' to fill the frame, and the cameras you mentioned have adequate resolution to crop to size(as long as you're not on the other side of the street photo'ing).

Natural lighting as fun! A diffuser and/or shade are the way to go...

Scott (let's see some photo's) B

TurtleTom

I believe your Canon has a viewfinder which makes it easier. I use a magnifying hood sometimes. First of all the Canon comes with a thick user manual, at least my old PowerShot A720 IS did. You need to keep this manual close to hand while you are taking pictures as these are sophisticated cameras with a lot of different settings. (I keep expecting mine to keel over and I'll buy a much better one. All my pro equipment went up in an arson fire)