Pic test for size and Pic quality

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

7miles

I know I need to work on my photos. I'm new to pen turn and pic. taken.
Some helpful hints are welcome. First digital camera. So its all new to me. I did no photo editing, just to resize.

Thanks for looking

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

toolcrazy

Photo looks good. I think it might be a touch over exposed and you might want to consider a slightly darker background. Maybe a light grey.

7miles

Darker background, noted thanks

Do I want the darker background, due to the darker pen?

The pen is the 6th pen I have done. Like I said, I'm new to pen turning I've done 16 pens over the past two week. I will be posting them in show off your pens, with more info on them. I just wanted to place one here first to make sure the photo was alright.

Thanks

Daniel

Overexposed means to much light got to the film or photo plate etc. in non technical terms it means any light colored spots or bright spots like the clip and nib in your photo, came out as just washed out white spots. actually the colroed areas on the pen are effected as well it is just not as noticable. reds start looking pink, and generaly detail gets fadded out. In your photo it looks like it was exposed for the black mat your have the pen resting on. you can see the fine details on it like the lint. for a better picture of the pen you would want the exposure to show the details in the pen and let the background suffer for it. Fiddle with the camera and different lighting etc. until you notice the fingerprints you forgot to wipe off in one of your photos then you know you are close to the correct set up.

toolcrazy

The reasoning behind the darker background is so it don't reflect back so much light. This just may be the reason for the over exposure.

7miles

Thanks guys,

Daniel the explanation you gave should help, thanks