Photoshop...worth the money?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DKF

Is Photoshop Elements or Lightroom3 worth the money over the free downloaded Picassa, Gimp etc.? I have been using Picassa for several years and have been generally satisfied, but is an upgrade to Photoshop worth it? Thanks for any and all advice.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rjwolfe3

Not at full price, in my opinion. I have Gimp 2 and can pretty much do anything that photoshop can do. I just wish I knew more on how to use it to its fullest potential.

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
You can pick up PhotoShop Elements 6 for $10-$15 through many closeout/liquidators on the net. That makes it a pretty good buy.

ldb2000

It all depends on what you are going to use it for and how much time you are goint to devote to learning it's capabilities . There are a number of free photo editing programs that will do a great job of editing photos . For simple editing like color corrections and resizing I use irfanview , it's fast and easy to use and it's free and it has several nice editing tools . Gimp is free open source and can do almost anything that PSE can do but has a similar learning curve . Picassa is free and works well , I'm just not a fan of Google spyware .

Edit ; Ken as far as I know all the ones I mention will work on win 7 . I know irfanview does and they all work on Vista so they should work on Win 7

Last edited:

Rmartin

I've had Elements 3 which I got with a wacom tablet I bought at least five years ago. I've never paid to upgrade to the newer versions, but I'm very satisfied with what it can do. I've also spent several years learning to use it through online classes. There are always different ways to do the same thing with elements. You get out of it what you put into it.

JimMc7