Photo Advice Needed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

kevrob

Hello all:

After being in a pen turning slump for a few months, I finally had a pen turn out and was able to try my hand again at getting some photos. I am trying to work on my photo skills, but feel I have a long way to go. I built a photo box with the recommended bulbs and have been playing around for the last few weeks. Attached are two photos, one that is untouched....downloaded from the camera and cropped and the second (with the description of the pen) is touched up a bit. I posted both so you could see the original. What can I do to get better pictures? I played around with the F stop and shutter speed a bit - the untouched one was the best I could get given my limited knowledge of the camera. We have a Nikkon D80 if that helps.

Thanks in advance. (please feel free to give me advice on my pen turning skills too - I am a newbie :)
Kevin

Attachments

• Ebony and Ivory, untouched.jpg
    Ebony and Ivory, untouched.jpg
    19 KB · Views: 153
  • Ebony and Ivory2.jpg
    Ebony and Ivory2.jpg
    23.4 KB · Views: 159
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

G1Pens

IMHO you have too much light coming from behind the pen making it appear too dark. I think the lighting needs to be moved forward. Assuming you have it on the sides of the lightbox you need to move it to the front of the setup. Look at the metal highlights on the pen and you will see that the center (front reflection) is very dark. Looks like the lights are on the sides and maybe even or slightly in front of the pen. I think you need more light on the entire pen.