No/low light photography on Toni's green rose.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

edstreet

I have been playing with this for several years now. The situation is all to common, very low light and you want to see good detail yet you don't have a monolight to use.

Long exposures :) These were taken very long shutter speeds (yes the shutter was open for 30+ seconds ). Fstop was F/22. All I used was a white pillow case, a shutter trip cable (about a $7.50 investment at b&h) and a tripod. Don't really need a tripod either, just something solid to put it on that wont move.

I also used my expodisc to set the color balance as I am 50% colorblind and don't want to deal with shifting that back.

These are 30 seconds:
attachment.php

attachment.php

attachment.php

This one is 90 seconds.
attachment.php

And 3 minutes ( 180 seconds)
attachment.php

Attachments

• IMG_7380.jpg
    IMG_7380.jpg
    240 KB · Views: 803
  • IMG_7386.jpg
    IMG_7386.jpg
    242.5 KB · Views: 754
  • IMG_7381.jpg
    IMG_7381.jpg
    225.8 KB · Views: 755
  • IMG_7400.jpg
    IMG_7400.jpg
    301.3 KB · Views: 816
  • IMG_7401.jpg
    IMG_7401.jpg
    267.7 KB · Views: 751
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
Hey Ed!!

Next time you do this, could you take one picture with normal exposure, just so we get a reference as to what the light conditions were.

Thanks!!!!!!

edstreet

Hey Ed!!

Next time you do this, could you take one picture with normal exposure, just so we get a reference as to what the light conditions were.

Thanks!!!!!!

The first 3 images was no lights on in the room, just the setting sun in a window. The last 2 was the room lights on.

edstreet

This one was done in a dark room, no lights on at all. 25 seconds and just a flash light, it is a 2x D cell mag-light.

attachment.php

This was the light source.
attachment.php

F/22, 25 second exposure, iso 100.

Attachments

• IMG_7406.jpg
    IMG_7406.jpg
    382.6 KB · Views: 690