Importance of minimum aperture?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PenAffair

Hey All,

I've been tossing up for a couple months whether I can afford a new camera, and assuming I had the funds, can't decide between the Canon powershot G10 compact, or the Canon EOS-1000D DSLR.

The main thing I'm worried about with any compacts, is minimum aperture is about F8, whereas with the DSLR, you can go down to around F22, depending on the lens. I want to have crisp pictures with the whole pen in focus.

I'm not happy with the results from my Powershot A580. Attached is a sample straight from the camera, taken in my light tent, just resized and compressed to fit forum requirements. The image seems muddy and depth of field on a long shot is quite narrow. Admittedly shooting with the Auto setting, but aperture sets itself to 2.6 or 4 usually (no aperture priority), 80 ISO and around 1/100 second.

So back to the point of the post. Do you think f8 as a minimum aperture is sufficient for most pen photography, or is the bigger settings of f11- f22 going to give better shots? I know pushing the aperture that small could start creating noise by forcing longer exposures, which may be the opposite effect to what I want anyway. I'm just not sure.

To be honest, even going to the G10 is stretching my budget, but I'm looking for RAW mode, and this seems to be the best of the few compacts that have RAW mode. The new Powershot SX1 almost looks better, except it doesn't have RAW!! Dunno what Canon are thinking of there? The next option is to drop down to the SX10IS and give up RAW mode to save some $$.

Any comments on high end compact vs low end DSLR for pen photography would be appreciated.

Thanks. Russell.

Attachments

• Corrugata-SS-Sedona-sample.jpg
    Corrugata-SS-Sedona-sample.jpg
    25.8 KB · Views: 245

Art Fuldodger