I finally broke out the good camera

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

sschering

It would seem that lately I have been lazy by only using my cell phone to take pictures. The results as you can imagine have been less than stellar.

So today I aimed to do a little better so I dusted off the Pentax K10 and retrieved my trusty Manfroto tri pod from the closet.

I didn't set up any lighting and the overhead light was casting some nasty shadows so I took an alternate route.. dim light from a floor lamp, F stop to maximum and stupid long exposure times..

Yes I have noticed my lens was dirty.. I solemnly swear to clean it next time.

My background is just a sheet I got form the linen closet with a screwdriver under it for a pen prop.

Shutter priority mode +1 on the exposure bias
f/38 ( I didn't know it went that high)
6 second exposure shot with 2 sec delay w mirror up to reduce shake
ISO-400
55mm
A little cropping was done.

FsYON3xl.jpg

2nd has the same settings but a little longer exposure time.
4 second exposure shot with 2 sec delay w mirror up to reduce shake
ISO-400
55mm
Again a little cropping was done.

pyT8ox7l.jpg

Last edited:
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mack C.

Passed Away Sep 29, 2018
In Memoriam
A tent may get rid of the glare line. Try moving your lights around to lessen or eliminate the glare.

I find the glare very distracting.

Nice pen pic. One other suggestion is to get rid of the black finial and replace it with the red acrylic you used for the pen. Look in the library for instructions to do this.
http://content.penturners.org/library/techniques/custom_finial.pdf
This isn't the only one, there are a few more!

All in the name of helping!:)

sschering

A tent may get rid of the glare line. Try moving your lights around to lessen or eliminate the glare.

Nice pen pic. One other suggestion is to get rid of the black finial and replace it with the red acrylic you used for the pen. Look in the library for instructions to do this.