How can I inprove?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Joe S.

Total newbie at this whole photography thing. I'm using a Nikon dslr camera with one of the all-around type lenses (if specs help, I can check them later). All four were manually focused, and resized in Photoshop. I did not alter them in any other way. Thoughts? C&C? Thanks!
DSC_0910.JPG

DSC_0911.JPG

DSC_0912.JPG

DSC_0913.JPG

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

edstreet

There could be a great number of 'suggestions' but every one of them would be wrong because we dont know where you want to end up.

Photography is not just one path but a great number of paths. Goals are very important to form a road map or you can easily get lost.

edstreet

Well few angles to approach it. Photography is painting with light, so first and foremost a good study into light mechanics is a must. There is a ton of math formulas involved if you wish to go down that path but its not necessary beyond some very basics. Then there is the glare, reflection and depth of detail path and other still like bringing out hidden details that is not seen. Each of those areas deserve full study and they complement the other greatly.

Whaler

Joe S, I think you need to get some more light on the subject. Lots of options there, take the pen outside and use natural light but not direct sunlight, if outside won't work try next to a large window. If you have a tripod set your camera to manual, f stop at f16 and vary your shutter speed. Play with it until you get what you want, remember the film is free.
You can make some improvements in Photoshop but I prefer to have my images right before they hit Photoshop.

duncsuss

Joe,

At a guess, you have the camera set to automatic exposure.

Camera makers decided a long time ago that a "typical scene" has a reflective value equal to "18% gray" (approximately).