Dirt Cheap Lighting - A Buyer's Guide

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Browncoat

As a semi-pro photographer, I think a lot of people stay away from lighting gear for a variety of reasons:
  • Expensive
  • Confusing
  • Takes up a lot of room
It's much easier to simply step outside and take photos in natural light. But what happens when the sun goes down? How about when the weather is bad and you're stuck inside? Sometimes space limitations can't be improved, however, having lighting equipment doesn't mean that you have to have a spare bedroom or basement either. As for the confusing part...it can be. It's difficult to make an informed decision on what to buy because most of us fear spending a lot of hard earned cash on something, only to figure out later on that it isn't what we needed.

I've compiled a few different lighting kits here that will get the job done on the cheap. The key word here is cheap. If you're looking for middle of the road equipment, you won't find it here. Most of this stuff is imported and made available through Amazon. If you want to experiment with lighting and want to fund it by digging through your couch cushions, read on:

Clark Howard Kit - $150
In case you don't know, Clark Howard is a syndicated radio talk show host, and is the cheapest person alive. This kit features the bare essentials. A 16 year old kid working at a grocery store can afford this stuff.

Yongnuo YN-560 speedlight - It is what it is, gang. No bells and whistles here, just dirt cheap and reliable.
CowboyStudio stand/umbrella/bracket kit - Don't sneeze on this thing, or it will blow over.
CowboyStudio NPT-04 wireless trigger - Bam! Welcome to the 21st century.
43" 5-in-1 reflector - I own this thing. It's fragile, but it gets the job done. Take care of it, and it will last!​

Weekend Warrior Kit - $ 300
If you have a bit more $$$ burning a hole in your pocket and want a better setup, take a look here.