CAmeras

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

farmer

g10 canon

hi bill
i use a canon g10
It is my first nice camera. really it is the first camera that i control the settings.
I like mine but I am still learning how to operate it.
Farmer

TomWalton

All of those cameras are more than you need for pen photography. The key to pen photography is good lighting - a window with a southern exposure and a piece of poster board as a reflector will work fine . A light box is nice, but not necessary. Avoid all the HDR/multiple exposure nonsense you'll see touted here - a pen, unless its badly lighted against your background, is not a high-dynamic range subject. Use a tripod for stability if you've got one. White balance with Canon cameras can be challenging; if you use window light, choose the "Shade" white balance in preference over Auto or Daylight. Move back 6-8 feet and use the nice zoom on the G-series cameras to give a nice perspective on your pen. Experiment until you're happy. Your camera will be fine.

--Tom

G1Pens

I have a G11 and it works great for doing pen photography. It has all the control and adjustments you will ever need. It shoot in JPG or RAW. It does great macro/close focusing and has a nice optical zoom range.

As Tom has said. The lighting is more important than the camera, but the G series is more than capable of doing what you need (and then some)

moke

Bill,
Tom hit it right on the head all the way around! I couldn't have said it better. This site is locked into "light boxes", and advice that your pen is "overexposed" here or there that I have seen here countless times is marginally true....the overexposure some people elude to, is as a result of uneven lighting.