Tap and Die (triple start threads) Group Buy - IS ON!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PTownSubbie

Mine came in too and I realize I am a real newbie when it comes to use of the die.....

What is the setscrew used for? I have never purchased a die that was split with a setscrew before.....:confused:

Texatdurango

All I got was a box full of wadded and rolled up newspaper! I tossed the paper out and looked for the tap and die but NOTHING! Ya think maybe I shouldn't have tossed the wrapping paper out! :eek::biggrin:

Texatdurango

Mine came in too and I realize I am a real newbie when it comes to use of the die.....

What is the setscrew used for? I have never purchased a die that was split with a setscrew before.....:confused:
It opens and closes the die.

Let's say you cut your cap (female) threads with the tap, which will be a "constant width". You can experiment with the set screw on the die to either expand or contract the "width" that the die will cut the (male) threads. This will allow you to make the mating threads tight, loose or anywhere in-between to suit your own tastes.

dozuki

I got my set in the mail today and can't wait to get started using them. Does anyone know how to use them? Actually I was looking at texatdurango's tutorial on another way to make a pen and was wondering if anyone could point me in the direction of the die holder with the M2 taper. I'm just trying to get all of the little bits and parts togeather before the real fun (frustration) begins. Again a big thanks to turbowagon for makeing this group buy happen.

Paul

PTownSubbie

It opens and closes the die.