Group buy for wood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

isaacrapelje

I am fairly new to pen turning but have developed contacts for great wood at great prices. In order to get great wood at great prices I usually buy atleast 1000lbs of burl or more. I have two questions. First would there be an interest in a group buy for say amboyna, afzelia, maple, buckeye, thuya, box elder burl, etc? Second what do you think is the best way to go about it? By the piece, bf, lb? Maybe a flat rate box full of one piece. I understand I would have to process the wood, but not into pen blank sizes. I can get some pretty good deals like big leaf maple burl for around .50 a pound, buckeye burl for $2.00 lb, amboyna for $9.00 lb with more for shipping. Is this a good idea or should I just buy the wood myself and process it into blanks and charge accordingly?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

I've thought about this before but due to the nature of wood, that each is unique...there will be a big responsibility for the one who is doing the group buy to properly/fairly distribute the wood.

Good luck if you ever go with this idea.

Daniel

Hate to be a dud on this one as I really like the idea of bulk buys. I am with Dario. Even looking for large pieces of wood for myself has been a frustrating exorcise. I have become a big fan of being able to see the actual blank I am buying as they vary extremely in just how good they are. BB is a huge exception to that rule. I would buy from him without a seconds hesitation any time. But I also know he throws out a huge amount of wood that does not meet his standards as well, and that is after having hand selected the large pieces he will cut blanks from. without some way to disperse the top notch pieces equally I can't see everyone getting the same value for there money.

dubdrvrkev