6 blade pen mill cutter heads

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Daniel

Just dropping in to let everyone know that I have not forgotten this buy.
I am waiting for money to transfer from my pay pal account to my banking account which seems to be taking forever. I hope to have the order paid for tomorrow.
Their are still two orders that have not been paid for. I am ordering the heads anyway.
Expect about 4 weeks for delivery on these heads. They are coming from China, will have to actually be made once the order is placed, and are connected to an order from another customer.

W3DRM

Just wondering why everyone is ordering so many of these cutter heads... Do they wear down quickly or lose their cutting edges that fast? I am assuming they are not carbide-tipped but can't they be sharpened?

I've never used a mill before so I'm new to these items. I have a Shopsmith and use the disc sander to trim down my blanks but since the price was right, I wanted to try out the mills and see how they do compared to the disc sander.

Daniel

Don, I've never done a survey but here is my best guess as to why 4 heads is such a popular number. the basic pen mill set comes with 4 pilots and 1 head. most of them going to be the older 4 blade variety of cutter head. getting 4 6 blade heads lets yo put one head on each pilot and not have to swap that 1 head from pilot to pilot.
I have had comments by several people that although the heads can be sharpened at the price they get them from the group buy they do not bother. They sort of cost about as much as a set of new bushings this way.
Finally I take the one head per pilot thing to extreme. I have made myself 21 different pilots and have a head on each of them.

then there is the price.

Daniel

I placed the order today. It took an awefully long time to get money from pay pal to my checking account. Don't know why they are in the same town (That was like a joke only not funny)