For those new to turning pens.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Justturnin

I have been turning pens now for about 9-10 months. Over that time I have learned/been taught some things that I would like to share.

Cutting blanks.
When you are going to cut your blank, be sure to mark you cut on it so when you turn it you align it back as it was for proper grain matching. I just use a slash across both halves that I can realign later.

Drilling.
When drilling if you are using a Pen blank vice place the cut side up and note where your mark is for lining up the grain. Once you drill the first blank insert the other one in (assuming a 2 part pen) also w/ the cut side up and your alignment mark in the same spot as the first piece. This will aid in the grain matching as well to make sure the bit is entering into the same location on the blank.

Gluing prep.
Many sand their tube. I did, but now I don't. All I do is give the tube a quick wipe w/ Acetone and don't touch them again to make sure you do not reintroduce oils from your skin onto the tube. These oils could cause and issue w/ the glue properly bonding to the blank.
If using Epoxy get some Play-doe, Dental Wax or Plumbers putty to seal the tube and prevent it from getting into your brass.
If you are going to be turning acrylic/resin blanks now is the time to reverse paint the blank holes and the tube. I use spray paint for both but there are many paints you can use. Give the paint about 24 hours to dry. Some folks place them in a toaster oven at a low temp to speed it up. It's all up to you.

Gluing.
Spread out some scrap paper, Foil or Wax Paper to glue on.
Before applying the glue give it a dry run and make sure it is going to go in no problem. I have had tubes stop dead ½ way in and need to be redrilled. Don't know why and never gave it much thought.