Oops, now what? I need that tube!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

joefrog

I'm new to turning, and I admit it. I've destroyed three or four blanks so far, and those were definitely demolished with gusto. I have lots of blanks -- what I DON'T have are the pen kits and brass tubes.

So after messing up a few and putting them aside to try and find replacement tubes, I thought, "Why not turn them down to the tube!? Worth a shot!"

Well, it does work -- if you're careful! You can turn it all the way down to the brass tube and sand off the CA glue with sandpaper.

I'm learning a little something new every day so far with this thing!

Best,
Joefrog

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

IPD_Mr

While the tubes are salvagable, I am not sure they are worth the time at what they cost to buy. At about .50 a set, the time to carefully turn off and send down the tube is much more expensive to me than to just toss and go to a new set. However, since you are new to this then the time spent cleaning off the tubes may be worth it as it helps you to hone your technique.

Justturnin

I have a box of my mistakes that I keep with the notion that one day if I am turning and need a tube before an order will get here I will salvage one of these. What I will do is turn it close to the tube and then drop the tube in some acetone and let it eat the glue off and I will just slide the tube out or chip the rest of the wood off.

Last edited:

PTownSubbie

While the tubes are salvagable, I am not sure they are worth the time at what they cost to buy. At about .50 a set, the time to carefully turn off and send down the tube is much more expensive to me than to just toss and go to a new set. However, since you are new to this then the time spent cleaning off the tubes may be worth it as it helps you to hone your technique.

LOL! You haven't purchased tubes in a while have you..... Most tubes these days are $1 plus. Closer to $1.50 for most....