New member question>

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Turn it up!

I am just getting started in pen turning and have a question. I see that a mandrel is needed to turn the blanks on the lathe, but I see also that there are different size pen tubes 3/8, 7mm, 10mm ect. do you need a different mandrel for each size. Hope this makes sense. Thanks Glenn:search:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

plantman

Glenn; A mandrel is one way of turning. Turning between centers is another way and requires no mandrel, and on a single barrel pen, no bushings, just a 60 degree live center for your tailstock, and a 60 degree drive for your headstock. One setup will fit all size tubes. Turning between centers is the way one would normaly run a lathe unless you were turning something with an open end. When you get more advanced in pen turning and do custom or closed end pens you will not be able to use a mandrel. So, if you want to learn to turn between centers to begin with, you can save a lot of money by not having to purchase bushings for each different kit. There are several good hints and tips on how to turn between centers on this sites library. If you have questions, just ask, someone will have an answer here for you. Jim S

Last edited:

BJohn

Also is you go the mandrel route, which just about all beginners do. You will need to pay attention to the kit. Some bushing for their particular kit require an 8mm mandrel.

Cwalker935

So....if I am to take it to the next level, I need to get into center to center turning. Can someone point me to a source for the bushings with 60 degree centers and tube spacers?

ed4copies

Local Chapter Manager
So....if I am to take it to the next level, I need to get into center to center turning. Can someone point me to a source for the bushings with 60 degree centers and tube spacers?

Not necessarily---I have turned and sold a whole lot of pens and still use a mandrel. Try both and decide what works for you!

plantman