Just Starting Out

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

rdilks

Hello All,

I'm just starting out in this process I took a class at the base wood shop and then got hooked and didn't want to spend to much time at the shop so I bought a lathe, press, and tools to work at home. I bought a 30 pen kit from woodcraft and so far I haven't been to successful with it I've tried two blanks and each one blew out when I got close to the bushings. I think it might be something to do with my drill press not drilling through the exact center (I'm using a square to find the center) any tips for a new person would be appreciated. I have finished two pens at the hobby shop one Koa wood and the other Teak so could it be the wood in the kit? Thanks

Rob

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

thewishman

Hi Rob, welcome to the IAP. Slimline pens are very difficult to do just right, there is so little wood left on the tubes when you are done. Sometimes, often even, the problem you are describing is due to poor glue coverage, the glue is not spread evenly on the tube.

When you had the blow-outs, did you notice if there was any wood or glue still stuck to the tube where it shattered? If not, you may need to work on getting the glue spread more evenly. I put some glue on the brass tube and swirl it in one end of the blank and pull it back out. Next I add more glue and push the tube in the opposite end of the blank and twist it around as it goes in. You can use about any glue - and many will argue that their glue works best - but getting good coverage is the key.

If it is not the glue, or even if it is, please post a picture of the blow-outs and we can help you in a better way.:)

Best of luck!

lwalper