How do I get my tip perfect?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

davidbrugger

I am new to turning. I have learned so much from this forum. Thanks first of all!!

I use Slimline mostly.

How do I get my wood pen blank the perfect size for a smooth look between the wood of the pen and the tip? What is the best tool? Many times it looks like I have the perfect size with the wood against the bushing when i am done turning but when I put the pen together I have the smallest of a ridge that I cant stand. Folks who buy my pens don't notice but I am looking for more perfection.
I use both Ca finish and Crystal Coat. :confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

davidbrugger

coupon

Have you tried using a digital caliper? Harbor Freight has a 6" one on sale this month. lot no 47257......reg priced $29.99 Super Coupon sale price $9.99

This was the first tool that helped me to make the kits fit better.

do you Have the super coupon code, tried to find it but no luck. No HF in Maine

Janster

...........on the 4th of July you may be able to get a 25% off coupon. ( for Harbor Freight ) The only trick is that you must have it in hand BEFORE the 4th, meaning 2 trips to HF and it may only be used on the 4th. You will not be given that coupon on the 4th.,,,,,,,,,good luck and be well........Jan

Last edited:

randyrls

Have you tried using a digital caliper? Harbor Freight has a 6" one on sale this month. lot no 47257......reg priced $29.99 Super Coupon sale price $9.99

This was the first tool that helped me to make the kits fit better.

A caliper usage tip: Put the jaws on the fitting and press the "Zero" button. Now the caliper will show how much over or under the target size you are.

edstreet

I am new to turning. I have learned so much from this forum. Thanks first of all!!

I use Slimline mostly.