Another use for CA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

okiebugg

I've known about this for years. In fact, the first time I used it for this purpose was in the Operating Room doing Cataract surgery. CA glue can be used to close minor lacerations to stop bleeding. We tried it on Cataract patients to close the wound created when opening the eye to remove the cataract. The use of this procedure didn't last long because the CA crystallizes and scratches the inside of the eyelid. Disclaimer: I am not a Doctor. I have a designation as an COMT which allows me to do just about anything the eye surgeon does with the exception of cutting tissue.

When you cut yourself while working in the shop, you can usually wrap a cloth around the impacted part and squeeze until it stops bleeding. Instead of the cloth, wipe the area completely dry the instant before you put a drop or two on the cut. (thick) This is when the fun starts.....spray the drop or two with accelerant quickly to make it seal the cut. It only hurts for a few seconds.

Put a band aid on it and forget about it for a day or two.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Drstrangefart

I have 3 or 4 small cuts on my hand that were on the side of a knuckle and super annoying. Accidentally filled them with thin CA while working on a finish, and it feels about normal now. Haven't had to seal up any fresh cuts with it, but I was aware of the use.

wouldentu2?

Have used it for this many times, this time of year it does a great job on skin cracking around the finger nails. A small amount at the edge and under the nail and the pain goes away.

SDB777

It's more like teargas in my shop, those fumes get into my eyes...WHEW! Looks like I been looking at Granny(from the Beverly Hillbillies show) while she was nakid!

Scott (glad I don't do battle anymore) B

randyrls