All click pen FRUSTRATION - a simple solution

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

thewishman

I have been making click pens for several years and came to a conclusion - they ALL STINK! I have a market for them and they look good, but every single time I make one I cringe and hold my breath.

"Will this one actually work?!" Click, cli. CRAP!!!:mad::mad:

Why do these pens always hang up! Why do so very few of them NOT have problems?

I have filed nib openings, stretched springs, replaced refills, sanded inside nib couplers and hardly ever get a pen that will perform reliably. I give each pen a 10 click performance test - almost 8 in 10 have problems that I try to fix.

Last night I examined another new batch and discovered a universal problem across almost all manufacturers components. One simple thing that caused the failures.

My beloved Schmidt Easy Flow 9000.:frown: These refills have made me money so well over the years. I use them in every pen that will fit the style.

The wrapper gets hung up on the nib coupler on every click pen I tested. When replaced with a non-wrapped refill the click mechanism works time after time.

I want my Schmidts! I will continue to use them in every non-click pen I make. Is there a way to get this wonderful refill in a non-wrapped version?

Now I have to contact my previous customers and hope they have not had trouble. Sending smooth refills to each one is going to be an expensive pain, but I want those customers to come back and to have the kind of well-functioning pen they paid for.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

randyrls

that is an interesting conclusion, you could probably remove the wrapper, don't know if you could ream slightly the inside of the coupler.

Thanks for sharing!

Racer3770

I run into this same issue with click pens and Schmidt refills. I have removed the label from a few refills with mixed success. The glue is difficult to get off the refill, even with acetone/rubbing alcohol.

Monty