Where to buy wood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hello everyone. I'm new to pen turning but in the process of getting all of the thins I need to get going. I'm in South East Florida. My question is...other than on line, where is my best source of exotic woods? I am capable of cutting it down to size so I can buy in bulk, but cannot seem to find a lumber yard here in south east florida that I can drive to. I like to see before I buy. Any suggestions? or should I just stick with online auctions for wood? thanks, John

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mdburn_em

Welcome.
I can't really give you any advice about locations where you are for wood resellers. I know that we have one lumberyard in my area that occassionally sells some of the more exotic lumber. There is a WoodCraft in the area that I enjoy going to. They will get larger blocks that can be cut down to size.
I have purchased a number of chunks from ebay but I also look at wood suppliers that simply sell burls and such.
I have purchased some fine woods from Griffin exotic wood at Griffin Exotic Wood--High quality exotic woods
Unless you can find a store, you might be stuck with pictures and the internet.
Talk with local tree services. Some of my most spectacular blanks I have found in my wood pile that I cut up for firewood. Often they have to pay to get the wood hauled off. If you take some, it's less they have to pay for.

mredburn

IAP Activities Manager
Staff member
Sw Florida is a poor place for exotic wood choices. Almost everything has to be shipped in.
Other than cabbage Palm. You might try a cabinet supply business for cherry and maple or a flooring store for left over pieces of other woods. Most of the wood I use for blanks came from Ebay. I bought mostly board lumber rather than pen blanks because of the cost per board foot.

Ed McDonnell