Waterslide decal paper

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fred Bruche

Not sure where this goes, so let's try the casual way :)
I am looking at getting started with applying logos to pens (possible business with a real estate agent acquaintance) and since colors are needed then decal paper seems the way to go. I am planning to print using a laser printer and there seem to be quite a few options from different vendors. Brief questions: Are all these papers created equal? If you have found that some are better than others, please share your favorite brand.
Thank you!
Fred

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

larryc

I have used the Testors Decal Paper from Hobby Lobby.
I print the decal. Let it set overnight
I spray with Krylon Non-yellowing Clear Gloss
Let it set overnight.
Another coat of Krylon
Let it set overnight.
Apply to the pen blank.
Let it set overnight.
Coat with 6 coats of CA.
Let it set overnight.

Dave Turner

I have limited experience with decals, but the few times I tried it, it worked very nicely. I used Blinggasm Waterslide Decal Paper from Amazon and pretty much the same technique that Larry specified. It's most cost effective to print an entire sheet of decals at once. Then a couple coats of Krylon Clear Acrylic Coating Spray to fix the ink onto the decal sheet. Then cut up the individual decals and water slide them to your blanks. I messed around with some Micro Sol Setting solution, but am not sure it really made any difference. Once dried onto the blank, I put multiple coats of CA over it until the decal "disappeared" into the CA. It came out really nice.

Rick_G